Wednesday comics: 10/27/2010

So starting this week, every Wednesday I’ll discuss with you the comics I should be getting in my box, as well as other books I wont be getting but curious to read at maybe another time.

It’s very rare when I only land upon one issue per issue but hit the jump for more

This week

WRITER: JONATHAN HICKMAN PENCILS: MIRKO COLAK & ALESSANDRO VITTI COVER BY: JIM CHEUNG

 

Secret Warriors# 21

Jonathan Hickman has ranked himself in my opinion as one of Marvel’s best writers and it all started with Secret Warriors. Originally created by Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev, the Secret Warriors made their debut in Secret Invasion #3. Hickman started writing the series and has yet to have lost my attention. He’s already doing a great job with the mini series S.H.I.E.L.D. as well as Ultimate Comics Thor.

 

Books I’d like

Writer: J. Michael Straczynski Artist: Shane Davis

 

J.M.S. is the reason why I love reading and will continue to read old Thor stories. But on the other hand, he’s managed to make me like Superman and Wonder Woman a lot less lately with his take on them. This book I’m willing to read, but am also reluctant. First of all, what’s with the hipster look? Has DC’s not learned of another iconic character trying to adopt this style?(*cough* Spiderman 3 *cough*). For a second, this looks like a young clone of Superman suited just our modern times.

Thanks for growing up Superboy

 

 

That’s all I have for this week, thanks for tuning in. I’ll be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

